Published on Sunday March 17th, 2013
By Andrea M. Meek


Nominations are now being accepted for the 2013 DoGooder Video Awards. Presented by YouTube, See3 Communications, and the Nonprofit Technology Network, the DoGooder Awards will honor the best nonprofit videos of the year.

Any nonprofit that made a video in 2012 is eligible to apply, and this year, for the first time, the submissions will also be open to individuals who are creating inspiring "videos for good."

According to The Official YouTube Blog, winners will be chosen in four categories: the ImpactX Award for videos that demonstrated impact for their causes; the Best Nonprofit Video, honoring nonprofits' use of video to make change; the Funny for Good Award, recognizing effective use of comedy to make people take action; and the Change Agent Award, for individuals who’ve been inspired to speak out on an issue by making a video.

“We are excited to present another year of the DoGooder Video Awards. The use of video by nonprofits continues to grow and it's great that we get to highlight the important and innovative work being done,” said Michael Hoffman, CEO of See3 Communications, in a press release announcing the event. “New categories in this year's contest are recognizing video's direct role in creating impact, and we will be honoring the individual video-makers who tell stories and do good by making a difference for a cause. We are grateful for the continued support of YouTube and to partner again with Cisco and NTEN, who are invested in the success of the nonprofit sector.”

Winners in each category will get $3,500, be featured on YouTube's Spotlight Channel, receive free registration to the Nonprofit Technology Conference and be recognized at the Minneapolis conference on April 12, 2013.

The deadline to enter is March 22, 2013. Members of the YouTube community will then vote for the best videos among the finalists from March 25 through April 5. Click here for the official contest rules.

Both organizations and individuals can enter the contest by going to

You can see last year's winners here.